Marillion Live At The Keswick Theater, Glenside, PA.

marillion-2

 

"                               "

 

 

marillion-3

 

I have been listening to Marillion since the 80’s. Although I never considered them one of my favorites, after watching them perform at the Keswick Theater on Sunday, November 6th, 2016, this may have changed my opinion & knocked them up on my MUST LISTEN LIST. The new album titled “F.E.A.R.” which stands for F**K Everyone And Run, is an incredible album, which I will review after a few more listens. As Marillion took the stage, everybody at the Keswick, was excited, and with good reason. I, myself, couldn’t take my eyes off the stage & I was sitting closer to the back of the theater, although, there is no bad seat in the house. My attention was mostly taken up by both Steve Hogarth & Pete Trawavas. Watching Hogarth move from singing to guitar, to keyboards was fun to watch, while switching over to Pete who was really getting into his bass playing with backround vocals, was really fun to watch. Most bass players are usually just part of the rhythm section, not so with Pete Trewavas.  Trewavas goes much farther than that. Steve Rothery, the main guitarist of Marillion was great also, although he is not your average guitar player. Guitarist are usually the main focal part of a band, but, with Marillion, it is an everything band. Keys, guitars, bass, drums & vocals all play an integral part of Marillion. I couldn’t see much of Ian Mosley behind the massive drum kit, but, it sounded great. Mark Kelly on the keyboards was also set back from the stage, so, I couldn’t see much, but again everything sounded great. They played a lot of songs from the new album, which will probably be in my top 10 of 2016, & that really pleased me. I like a band who changes up their set all of the time & after talking to members of Marillion, they do this all of the time. I’ve been listening to Marillion since the 1980’s, and this was my first Marillion show, but it won’t be my last. My son, who went with me really enjoyed the show as well. My thanks to Marillion, & Kim, who made this concert happen for me. The Keswick Theater is always a fantastic place to see a concert. This show gets 5 out of 5 Music Guru Stars.

About musicgururadio

I own & program Music Guru Radio, which you can listen to at www.MusicGuruRadio.com worldwide.
This entry was posted in Concert review, Ian Mosley, Marillion, Mark Kelly, Music, Music Review, New Music, Pete Trewavas, Progressive Rock, Rock, Steve Hogarth, Steve Rothery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

