Steely Dan with Steve Winwood Concert at BB&T, Camden, NJ. July 3, 2016

Steely-Dan 2

Steely-Dan 7.jpg     steve-winwood-tour-dates-music-news

Steely-Dan 6

Steely-Dan 1

Steely-Dan 5

 

I’ve seen both of these icons before. I’ve seen Steve Winwood with Eric Clapton, and, I’ve seen Steely Dan about 10 years ago when they put out their 2 against nature album out. Let’s start with the opener, Steve Winwood…

Steve started us off with a version of Spencer Davis Group’s I’m A Man, which, seems to be a staple of his at recent shows, Next up was Pearly Queen by Traffic followed by At Times We Do Forget. Blind Faith was next up on the list with Can’t Find My Way Home. With so many groups that Steve Winwood was in, he chose to put in a cover tune of Them Changes from Buddy Miles. Traffic, the group, came up again with The Low Spark Of High Heel Boys, then coming back around with his biggest solo hit “Higher Love”. Coming to a close, we come back to Traffic with Dear Mr. Fantasy. Steve and the band came back for an encore of “Gimme Some Lovin” from the Spencer Davis Group. There was quite a bit of improv floating about on the songs which is great. I would like to see a bit more of interaction with the audience on this outing, but, such is not the case with Steve Winwood. Steve was mostly on organ except 2 Traffic songs where he played guitar.

Next up on the bill was Steely Dan, who opened up with a jazzy intro called “November Afternoon”, then going into “Black Cow”. A lot of the album Aja was played. The title track was played next. Next up was “Hey Nineteen”, “Black Friday”, “Razor Boy” from “Countdown To Ecstasy”. Up next was “Kid Charlemagne” from my favorite Steely Dan album “The Royal Scam”. Then came “Show Biz Kids”, “Bodhisattva”, “Daddy Don’t Live In New York City No More”, next up, their first hit “Do It Again”, followed by a cover of Joe Tex’s “I Want To (Do Everything For You)”, Coming back to the jazzy end of Steely Dan with “Deacon Blues”, then, “Josie”, and, “Peg”. As I said, A lot of “Aja”. Coming back with older songs “My Old School” and “Reeling In The Years”. The encore was a weird choice, but, hey, they ARE Steely Dan. The encore was “Pretzel Logic. I do love when they throw in the rare tracks, but, I wasn’t expecting that to be the end song. Becker & Fagen were right where I expected them to be, although, I would have liked to see Walter Becker more active. He did, however, have another great guitarist right beside him splitting up the solos. The drummer was great as were the rest of the band. I would have liked to hear more of some the other albums, but, it seems like Steely Dan was set on “Aja” this go around. Almost the whole album. I would have liked to hear more from “The Royal Scam”, but, that was the last tour that I saw.

The Camden police were much more helpful than they were in the past, so I give them a notch up. BB&T is a good place to see a show, where you have a choice of sitting on assigned seats or sitting on the lawn.  I give this concert 4 out of 5 Music Guru Stars. All in all, a musical gem.

About musicgururadio

I own & program Music Guru Radio, which you can listen to at www.MusicGuruRadio.com worldwide.
This entry was posted in Alan Parsons Project, Blind Faith, Concert review, jazz, Miles Davis, Music, Music Review, Progressive Rock, Rock, singer songwriter, Spencer Davis Group, Steely Dan, Steve Winwood, Traffic, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

