Pete Townshend’s Classical Quadrophenia

I wasn’t sure what I was going to hear, when I listened to Pete Townshend’s Classical Quadrophenia. I read up on this from Pete Townshend, somewhere down the line. I liked it, but, for me, it lacked something. Nothing bad, but, as I kept listening & listening, I figured out what it was. It wasn’t that Roger wasn’t singing the vocals, as I knew about that already, it wasn’t the lack of guitars or bass that Pete & John Entwistle would have played, as the orchestra really did that part extremely well, except on 1 song, which was “Love Reign O’er Me”. It was the lack of Keith Moon on the drums. There was a big absence there. I kept air drumming & there was very limited orchestral drumming there. The vocals were done by an opera singer, so, that took me a while to get use to, but, he did a phenomenal job on “Doctor Jimmy”. His voice really fit that song. Pete also sings on 1 track, “The Punk Vs The Godfather”. For people that love classical music with an opera singer, you’ll love this, as, it was written as a Rock Opera, after all. For me, I’d rate it 3.5 – 4 Music Guru Stars, mostly for the lack of drums. Pete Townshend writes a great story & great music.

About musicgururadio

I own & program Music Guru Radio, which you can listen to at www.MusicGuruRadio.com worldwide.
This entry was posted in CD Reviews, Classical Music, Classical Quadrophenia, Music, Music Review, New Music, Pete Townshend, Progressive Rock, Quadrohenia, Rock, Rock Opera, The Who and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

